Veggie Burger #2: Corn and Cheese Cakes

IMG_1062

After trying Deborah Madison’s Wild Rice Crepe-Cakes (see previous post), I realized that a simple pancake can be transformed into a full meal, simply by stirring in a few ingredients before cooking.  I wanted my pancakes to fill the role of a burger.  It needed to be filling, savory with a good dose of umami, and have a heft to it. Something when you pick it up, will let you know that eating this is more than a light snack. So I got to work.  Click here for the recipe.

I took a basic whole wheat pancake recipe and added sharp cheddar cheese for the umami and deliciousness factor.  Since I had cooked wild rice left over from the Wild Rice Crepe Cakes, I kept that for the heft and for an interesting texture.  But I think other grains would work just as well – I’d like to try these with some cooked barley or quinoa. Then I finely chopped some veggies to for flavor and crunch.  I was in the mood for some southwest flavor, so I used green onion, fresh corn, and poblano pepper.   I made the cakes quite large, but small would work as well.

The result:  hefty, beautiful cakes.  I was afraid the cheese would add too much oil and weigh the batter down, but it worked.  They weren’t light and airy, but who wants a fluffy burger?  They actually rose pretty well, and the cheese flavor wasn’t overpowering.   The vegetables were fun and flavorful, especially the corn.  Each bite gave a little burst of moist deliciousness.

We ate them topped with salsa, and they got high marks from the whole family.  They would probably be good cold the next day, but all of ours got gobbled immediately.

Veggie Burger Verdict: These are definitely contenders in the Veggie Burger Quest.  They held together well, had good deliciousness and umami, and had the heftiness I’m looking for.  Negatives:  you wouldn’t be able to cook these on a grill, and they would be unhappy encased in a bun.  They provide their own breadiness.

Leave a Reply

